August

I can’t believe it’s mid-August already, where did Summer go? Have you noticed evening daylight slowly creeping away earlier and earlier each night? Agh, Summer and triathlon season, nearing its end.

My focus in August has been increasing my run mileage and getting in some speed work and hill work in preparation for The Madison Mini Marathon (this Saturday), Redman 70.3 at the end of September, and The Haunted Hustle 26.2 at the end of October. My focus has had a rough start.

The first week of increased mileage and intensity brought a shock to my calves, shins, knees, basically everything. It all hurt. The second week I overdid the strength training and had achy hamstrings for six straight days. My recovery week long run of 10 miles brought on all kinds of self doubt that I battled for days. I questioned why I do this? Will I ever improve? Do my crazy, ridiculous life-long dream goals even make sense to have?dreams Of course my crazy, ridiculous dream-goals are worth having. If your goals don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough…What a silly quote really. Small goals are just as important. Mine just happens to be big and scary, and maybe even unattainable for me.

Anyway, back to the subject of focusing on improving my run in August. I’m onto the third week, and so far so good. I got in a good quality track workout tonight with a sub 9 five mile run. I haven’t seen sub 9 in a long time. Run, stumble, fall, get back up, keep running. There’s a quote. shit

I’ll tackle a brick workout tomorrow, Thursday is TBD, and Friday will have a shakeout run and a ride before the Madison Mini. It’s kind of strange how I often run better the day after a bike ride. Triathlete legs. These triathlete legs have work to do, and sleep to get.

Good night.

One thought on “August

Leave a Reply

