Weekend Sickness and Blizzard

Written on Saturday:  Defeated. That sums up how I feel while being sick with my third virus in January. Whiny, yes, I know, but a girl can whine from time to time. I went to the doctor yesterday just to make sure it wasn’t something more severe, but she assured me that I’m just a virus magnet.

So it’s a bright Saturday morning, I’m off of work, and hmph,…I’m not running. I asked the doctor if it was okay to run through the sickness. She said it was better that I rest. I’m not entirely sure what to do with myself without a run today. I could spin, but I spent my entire week on the spinner. Swimming is out of the question with this awful cough and congestion.

Sunday:  While I’m still sick and coughing so hard I’m afraid I’ll bust a lung, I went out for a run. You see, I’m also sick in the head and think running in a blizzard is FUN. There was 20 mph wind, 5-6 inches of accumulated snow, nothing was shoveled or plowed, and I even fell flat on my face. I thoroughly enjoyed it! It was an adventure outside, in daylight!!

My pup Ziggy didn’t seem to mind either! I took him for the first 3 miles of a 6 mile run.
f1

I was thinking back to previous winters when I didn’t find this so fun. In previous winters I was training for a spring marathon. Having the conditions slow my pace down resulted in me losing speed every spring. Since I’m not training for a spring marathon this season I don’t care if I’m lollygagging at an 11 minute mile in the snow!

f2

f3

Hopefully my next post will be written from a healthier, virus-free state. For now, excuse me *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE* *COUGH* *COUGH* *SNEEZE* WHEEZE*

One thought on “Weekend Sickness and Blizzard

Leave a Reply

