Sickness and Measuring Cups

I’m beginning to think I will be sick for all of 2015. I started the New Year with a sinus infection, two weeks later had a nasty stomach bug that caused me to toss my cookies for a day, and now, just a week later, I have a goddamn sore throat. Can’t I catch a break from this?

Is it possible that since I started tracking my calories that my immune system got weak? Is that crazy to think? I feel like it’s crazy, people “diet” all the time. I started using the MyFitnessPal app on January 4th. Today marks the start of the fourth week logging my calorie intake.

A quick look at the last 30 days on the app shows I’ve averaged 1688 calories a day. That’s not too terribly low.

blogjan26b

After three weeks of counting calories and measuring portions I was excited to see what the numbers revealed about my progress. They were not exciting. Only two pounds went missing. Womp.

blogjan26a

I bought this vintage 1929 scale over the weekend.

On the bright side, I feeeeel like my stomach is less puffy. Some of my pants feel looser. I really should have measured my waist before all this effort.

Even though the numbers aren’t assuring me that these weight loss efforts are going well, I’m going to keep at it. I mean, when else in life is it okay to eat frozen yogurt right out of a measuring cup?

blogjan26

Leave a Reply

